Return to Headlines

Ryan White Historical Marker Dedication Ceremony

Ryan White Historical Marker Dedication Ceremony

On Friday, August 30, 2019, the Ryan White Historical Marker was dedicated at Hamilton Heights Middle School.

We are thankful for HCTV for broadcasting this event which can be seen here:…

Speakers at the ceremony included the following:
- Hannah Beechler - HHMS student - Pledge of Allegiance
- Dan Smith, Co-Chair Ryan White Committee
- Dr Bill Beechler, Riley Hospital for Children
- Hon. Tony Cook, Indiana State Representative
- Woodrow Myers, MD, Former Commissioner, Indiana 
State Board of Health
- Jeremy Turner, Director, HIV/STD Viral Hepatitis Division, 
Indiana State Department of Health 
- Video Message by Governor Eric Holcomb
- Kim Kaiser, Treasurer, HHHS Ryan White Educational 
- Jessica Petty, Member, Ryan White Committee
- Video Message from Elton John
- Rear Admiral Sylvia Trent-Adams, Principal Deputy 
Assistant Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services
- Jeanne White-Ginder – Ryan White’s mother

Hamilton Heights School Corporation received approval for a state historical marker to commemorate the impact and contributions of Ryan White from the Indiana Historical Bureau (IHB). IHB administers the Indiana Historical Marker Program to recognize significant people, places, events, and organizations in Indiana’s history. Ryan White’s marker, the 7th in Hamilton County, is among the more than 650 that have been commemorated by an official Indiana state historical marker since the organization began issuing signs in 1946.

We would also like to the thank the following for the time, contributions,and assistance to this special dedication:

HHSC Board of Education, HHSC Ryan White Historical Marker Committee, HHMS Faculty and Staff, HHMS Band and Choir, Hamilton Heights Educational Foundation, Cicero Parks Department, Towns of Arcadia, Atlanta, and Cicero,
Indiana Historical Bureau, Indianapolis Children’s Museum,
Indiana State Department of Health, Beck’s Hybrids, Jackson Township Trustee, Lori Hippensteel, Nick Smith, Aspire Indiana, HCTV, local fire and emergency personnel and everyone else who contributed in some way to make this event possible.