Return to Headlines

Heights' Mason named Principal of the Year





Heights’ Jarrod Mason Selected District 5 High School Principal of the Year

Jarrod Mason, Hamilton Heights High School Principal, has been selected as the District 5

Principal of the Year by the Indiana Association of School Principals (IASP). District 5 is located

in central Indiana and comprised of Boone, Hamilton, Howard, Madison, Miami and Tipton



District High School Principals of the Year are elected by their peers. One principal is honored

from each of the 12 districts. From these 12 District High School Principal winners, one is

chosen as the 2018 State High School Principal of the Year. The State winner will be announced

at the award celebration in November.


Mason, a 1994 Hamilton Heights graduate, was hired as the high school principal in the fall of

  1. Mason said he is humbled and honored by the recognition, especially knowing the high

caliber and talent among his peers in the other District 5 schools.


Mason said he enjoys the challenge of helping students learn how to navigate the increasingly

complex world issues into which they are plugged into around the clock. Mason counts

broadening the dual credit curriculum offerings from 4 to over 20 courses, expanding the

vocational education umbrella to better serve all students, and increasing graduating rates

among his top accomplishments during his 10-year tenure as principal.


Dr. Derek Arrowood, Hamilton Heights School Corporation School Superintendent, said Jarrod is

an example of a graduate who returned to make a difference. Jarrod believed so strongly in the

opportunities at HHSC that he and his wife Char, chose to return to raise their family (Taylor,

10 th grade; Dean, 6 th grade; and Cyrus, 3 rd grade). In his role, he has been instrumental in

helping to create an exemplary learning community that maximizes every student’s success,

works to empower teachers to be facilitators, leaders and coaches, and cultivate a positive

school climate that is inviting and safe for all.”


The recognition ceremony is a part of the 2018 Principals of the Year Recognition Celebration

that will take place during IASP’s annual Fall Professional Conference. The award will be

presented at a dinner at the Indianapolis Marriott Hotel at 6:00 p.m. on Sunday, November 18

with the IASP State President, Andrea Korreck, presiding along with Todd Bess, Executive



The Indiana Association of School Principals is a not-for- profit, professional association serving

over 2800 building level administrators in the state of Indiana.